Quantcast
Square Enix to discontinue physical and digital sales of The Last Remnant’s PC version By Tony Garsow on August 25, 2018 at 11:29 AM

Square Enix will discontinue sales of The Last Remnant‘s PC version early next month. Originally released on the Xbox 360, The Last Remnant was one of the company’s earliest entries in the seventh generation of consoles and was dubbed “a Square Enix RPG for the world.”

The game follows protagonist Rush Sykes as he uncovers the mysteries of enormous magical artifacts called “Remnants.” It uses a squad-based battle system where you issue commands rather than individual actions and you recruit many characters from all sorts of backgrounds to fight at your side.

Sales will end at the following times, according to Square Enix’s announcement on the Steam store.

Japan: Wednesday, September 5th, 2018 @ 2:00 JST
North America: Tuesday, September 4th, 2018 @ 10:00 PDT
Europe: Tuesday, September 4th, 2018 @ 17:00 GMT

It’s important to note: those who own the game before the cutoff date will still be able to play.

Advertisement
  • No reason given why? Come on, this really is a rubbish move, Square Enix.

  • Coe

    One question. I get people can still play it after it’s removed from store, but does that apply also to being able to download the game again and again without having to worry the source hosting the downloadable files goes missing too?

  • Kyle

    There is no “why” to this story.

  • Yes, unless Square Enix removes the files from the server, you can always reinstall if you’ve purchased it prior to the removal date.

  • Randy Marsh

    So possible Nintendo tactic to remove the original from the online store and then force us to rebuy it when the obvious HD remaster comes out for PS4/XBOne/Steam? Nah, I’m thinking way too much into it…

  • stevenm281

    I wish, I never could play it since they cancelled the PS3 version

  • Randy Marsh

    Yeah, I remember that…

    Damn it! Wish harder Steve!